Young Lawyers' Section (YLS) - The Missouri Bar

FastCase login

They Had a Dream Too

Like us on Facebook
The Missouri Bar   |   CLE Center

YLS Council and Election Information

The governing body for the Young Lawyers' Section is the YLS Council, which is composed of approximately 35 young lawyers elected for two-year terms from districts across the state, with officers and executive committee elected from within the ranks of the Council’s membership.

For a copy of the YLS by-laws, click

here.
For a map of the YLS districts, please click here.

Elections for roughly half of the Council seats are held annually each summer. Election notices and deadlines for filing nominating petitions are published in the Journal of The Missouri Bar.

Nominating petitions for open seats must be filed with the Executive Director of the Missouri Bar between January 1 and July 1 prior to the election. Votes are generally canvassed on August 15th of each year. Nominating petitions must be signed by at least five members of the YLS who are enrolled and entitled to vote in the respective district from which the member or members of the Council are to be elected. For a copy of a nominating petition, please click here.

The Young Lawyers’ Section Council’s bylaws allow for an “Alternating District” and the election of one additional member of the Young Lawyers’ Section Council who has unique experience and knowledge or who represents diverse elements of the YLS within the state of Missouri, including but not limited to race, gender, sexual orientation, and disability. The 2018 – 2020 seat was a representative elected by eligible voters in the Southern District. For more information and a copy of the nominating petition for the diversity seat, please click here.


2018-2019 YLS Council Officers and
Executive Committee Members

Nicole Fisher
Nicole Fisher, Chair
Fisher Law LLC
4310 Madison Ave., Suite 110
Kansas City, MO 64111
Phone: (816) 471-7008
Email: nicole@fisherlawkc.com
District: 3

Jose Caldera Jose Caldera, Chair-Elect
City of Columbia
701 E. Broadway
Columbia, MO 65201
Email: josescaldera@gmail.com
District: 5

Lauren Collins Lauren Collins, Secretary-Treasurer
Sandberg Phoenix von Gontard PC
600 Washington Ave., 15th Floor
St. Louis, MO 63101
Phone: (314) 446-4213
Email:lauren.c.collins@gmail.com
District: 9

Morgan Murphy
Morgan Murphy, Immediate Past Chair
Zevan Davidson Roman LLC
1 North Taylor Ave.
St. Louis, MO 63108
Phone: (314) 588-7200
Email: morgan@zevandavidson.com
District: 9

Stephan Tomlinson Stephan R. Tomlinson, Board of Governors Delegate
Missouri Department of Social Services
615 Howerton Court
Jefferson City, MO 65109
Phone: (573) 751-5222
Email:stephan.tomlinson@gmail.com
District: 6

Robert Thrasher Robert A. Thrasher, At-Large Executive Committee Member (KC)
Monsees & Mayer, PC
4717 Grand Ave., Suite 820
Kansas City, MO 64112
Email: rthrasher@monseesmayer.com
District: 3


Corey Moon Corey Moon, At-Large Executive Committee Member (Outstate)
De Coster Law LLC
105 E. Lafayette St.
P.O. Box 81
Monticello, MO 63457
Phone: (573) 767-5304
Email: mooncoreyr@gmail.com
District: 2

Whittney Dunn Whittney A.L. Dunn, At-Large Executive Committee Member (SL) and ABA Delegate
The Bar Plan Mutual Insurance Company
1717 Hidden Creek Court
St. Louis, MO 63131
Phone: (314) 288-1071
Email: wadunn@thebarplan.com
District: 8

Steven Ramsey Steven Alan Ramsey, ABA YLD Liaison, Ex Officio Member
Jackson County Prosecutor's Office
415 E. 12th St., 11th Floor
Kansas City, MO 64106
Phone: (816) 405-9593
Email: stevenalanramsey@gmail.com


2018-2019 YLS Council Members

Brooke A. Christy Brooke A. Christy
Phillips, McElyea, Carpenter & Welch, PC
85 Court Circle, N.W.
P.O. Box 559
Camdenton, MO  65020
Phone: (573) 346-7231
Email: bchristy@pmcwlaw.com
District: 12    

Mariam Clayton

Mariam Clayton
The Clayton Law Firm
7777 Bonhomme Ave., Suite 1800
St. Louis, MO 63105
Phone: (314) 402-3555
Email: mclayton@theclaytonlawfirm.com
District: 8

Kelly Collins
Kelly Collins
Jackson County Prosecutor's Office
321 W. Lexington
Independence, MO 64050
Phone: (816) 881-3288
Email: kmcollins@jacksongov.org
District: 3

Christopher Dandurand Christopher Dandurand
The Gorny Law Firm, LC
4330 Belleview Ave., Suite 200
Kansas City, MO 64111
Phone: (816) 756-5071
Email: chris@gornylawfirm.com
District: 3

Matt DePaz Matt DePaz
Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP
2555 Grand Blvd.
Kansas City, MO 64108
Phone: (816) 474-6550
Email: mdepaz@shb.com
District: 3

Nate Dunville Charles Nathan "Nate" Dunville
Neale & Newman, LLP
1949 E. Sunshine St.
Building 1, Suite 130
Springfield, MO 65804
Phone: (417) 860-0741
Email:ndunville@nnlaw.com
District: 11

JoEllen Engelbart JoEllen Engelbart
Jackson County Prosecutor's Office
321 W. Lexington Ave.
Independence, MO 64050
Phone: (816) 881-4618
Email: jengelbart@jacksongov.org
District:3

Rex Fennessey Rex Fennessey, Missouri Bar Foundation Liaison
McMahon Berger, PC
2730 N. Ballas Rd., Suite 200
St. Louis, MO 63131
Phone: (314) 567-7350
Email: fennessey@mcmahonberger.com
District: 8

Elizabeth Kiesewetter Fax Elizabeth Kiesewetter Fax
Greene County Prosecutor's Office
1010 Boonville Ave.
Springfield, MO 65802
Phone: (314) 471-9252
Email: efax@greenecountymo.gov
District:11

Dustin Goldberger

Dustin Goldberger
910 Stablefield Court
St. Louis, MO 63141
Phone: (314) 629-9739
Email: dustingoldberger@gmail.com
District:9

Lauren Horsman Lauren Horsman
Chapman and Cowherd, PC
903 Jackson St.
P.O. Box 228
Chillicothe, MO 64601
Phone: (660) 646-0627
Email: lhorsman@ccttlaw.com
District:1

Mathew Jett Mathew Jett
Law Office of Mathew T. Jett
225 S. Meramec Ave., Suite 821T
St. Louis, MO 63105
Phone: (314) 399-5995
Email: matt@attorneymattjett.com
District: 8

Pat Mobley Dustin Mayer
Mayer Law Office
P.O. Box 326
140 S. Walnut
Dexter, MO 63841
Phone: (573) 624-7876
Email:dustin@mayerlawoffice.com
District: 14

David L. McCain, Jr. David L. McCain, Jr.
Missouri Attorney General’s Office
P.O. Box 899
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Phone: (573) 751-3321
Email: David.McCain@ago.mo.gov
District: 6

Tristan Medlin Tristan Medlin
1105 E. 32nd St., Suite 5
Joplin, MO 64804
Email: tmedlin@joplinlawyers.com
District:10


Trisha McCulloch

Trisha McCulloch
TEM Law LLC
814 First Capitol Dr.
St. Charles, MO 63301
Phone: (636) 232-9700
Email: trisha@temlawllc.com
District: 7

Pat Mobley W. Patrick Mobley
Legal Services of Eastern Missouri
4232 Forest Park Ave.
St. Louis, MO 63108
Phone: (314) 256-8782
Email: wpmobley@lsem.org
District: 9

Christa Moss Christa Moss
U.S. District Court for the Western District of Missouri
222 N. John Q. Hammons Pkwy.
Springfield, MO 65806
Phone: (417) 865-3761
Email: christa_moss@mow.uscourts.gov
Alternating District

Katherine Myers Katherine Myers
Edelman, Liesen & Myers, LLP
4051 Broadway, Suite 4
Kansas City, MO 64111
Phone: (816) 533-4976
Email: kmyers@elmlawkc.com
District: 3

Kate Noland Kate E. Noland
Noland Law Firm, LLC
34 Westwoods Dr.
Liberty, MO 64068
Phone: (816) 781-5055
Email:kate@nolandlawfirm.com
District: 4

Erin Pfirrman Erin Pfirrman
Segal, McCambridge, Singer and Mahoney
10 S. Broadway, Suite 1560
St. Louis, MO 63102
Phone: (314) 300-5780
Email: epfirrman@smsm.com
District: 8

Nicole Pleasant Nicole S. Pleasant
The Pleasant Group, LLC
1015 Locust St., Suite 406
St. Louis, MO 63101
Phone: (314) 449-1654
Email:pleasantlaw11@gmail.com
District: 9

Dan Portnoy Dan Portnoy
Jackson County Prosecutor’s Office
415 E. 12th St., 11th Floor
Kansas City, MO 64106
Phone: (816) 881-3555
Email: dportnoy@jacksongov.org
District: 3

Scott Smithson

Scott Smithson
Blitz, Bardgett & Deutsch, LC
120 S. Central, Suite 1500
St. Louis, MO 63105
Email: slspf2@gmail.com
District: 8

Shatrasha Stone Shatrasha "Shae" Stone
Baker Sterchi Cowden & Rice LLC
100 N. Broadway, 21st Floor
St. Louis, MO 63102
Email: sstone@bscr-law.com
District: 9


Ashley M. Walker Ashley M. Walker
Sandberg Phoenix & von Gontard PC
600 Washington Ave., 15th Floor
St. Louis, MO 63101
Phone: (314) 231-3332
Email: awalker@sandbergphoenix.com
District: 9

Mark Welker Mark J. Welker
The Limbaugh Firm
407 N. Kingshighway, Suite 400
P.O. Box 1150
Cape Girardeau, MO 63701-1150
Phone: (573) 335-3316
Email: mwelker@limbaughlaw.com
District: 13

Jerri Zhang Hon. Jerri J. Zhang
16th Judicial Circuit Court, Division 19
415 E. 12th St., 9th Floor
Kansas City, MO 64106
Phone: (816) 881-3761
Email: jerri.zhang@courts.mo.gov
District: 3