Young Lawyers' Section (YLS) - The Missouri Bar

FastCase login

They Had a Dream Too

Like us on Facebook
The Missouri Bar   |   CLE Center

YLS Council and Election Information

YLS’ governing body is the YLS Council, which is composed of approximately 35 young lawyers elected for two-year terms from districts across the state, with officers and executive committee elected from within the ranks of the Council’s membership.

For a copy of the YLS by-laws, click here (updated May 2016).
For a map of the YLS districts, please click here.

Elections for roughly half of the Council seats are held annually each summer. Election notices and deadlines for filing nominating petitions are published in the Journal of The Missouri Bar and are listed on this website’s Statewide Young Lawyer Calendar.

Nominating petitions for open seats must be filed with the Executive Director of the Missouri Bar between January 1 and July 3 prior to the election. Votes are generally canvassed on August 15th of each year. Nominating petitions must be signed by at least five members of the YLS Section who are enrolled and entitled to vote in the respective district from which the member or members of the Council are to be elected. For a copy of a nominating petition, please click here.

Beginning in 2016, the Young Lawyers’ Section Council’s bylaws allow for the creation of an “Alternating District” and the election of one additional member of the Young Lawyers’ Section Council who has unique experience and knowledge or who represents diverse elements of YLS within the state of Missouri, including but not limited to race, gender, sexual orientation, and disability. The 2016 – 2018 seat will be a representative elected by eligible voters in the Western District. For more information and a copy of the nominating petition for the diversity seat, please click here.


2017-2018 YLS Council Officers and
Executive Committee Members

Morgan Murphy Morgan Murphy, Chair
Zevan Davidson Roman, LLC
One North Taylor Ave.
St. Louis, MO 63108
Phone:   (314) 588-7200
Email: morgan@zevandavidson.com
District: 9

Nicole Fisher
Nicole Fisher, Chair-Elect
Fisher Law LLC
4310 Madison Ave., Suite 110
Kansas City, MO 64111
Phone: (816) 471-7008
Email: nicole@fisherlawkc.com
District: 3

Jose Caldera Jose Caldera, Secretary-Treasurer
City of Columbia
701 E. Broadway
Columbia, MO 65201
Email: jose.caldera@como.gov
District: 6

Sander Sowers Sander Sowers, Immediate Past Chair
Lear Werts LLP
2003 W. Broadway, Suite 107
Columbia, MO 65203
Phone: (573) 875-1991
Email: sowers@learwerts.com
District: 5

Brandon Corl
Brandon Corl, Past Chair
Holman Schiavone, LLC|
4600 Madison Ave., Suite 810
Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone: (816) 283-8738
Email:bcorl@hslawllc.com
District: 3

Bryan Sanger Bryan Sanger, Past Chair
Mandel & Mandel, L.L.P.
1108 Olive St., 5th Floor
St. Louis, MO 63101
Phone: (314) 621-1701
Email:bryan@mandelmandel.com
District: 9

Lauren Collins Lauren Collins, At-Large Executive Committee Member (St. Louis)
HeplerBroom LLC
One Metropolitan Square
211 N. Broadway, Suite 2700
Phone: (618) 973-5981
Email:lauren.c.collins@gmail.com
District: 9

Christopher Dandurand Christopher Dandurand, At-Large Executive Committee Member (Kansas City)
The Gorny Law Firm, LC
4330 Belleview Ave., Suite 200
Kansas City, MO 64111
Phone: (816) 756-5056
Email: chris@gornylawfirm.com
District: 3

Steven Ramsey Steven Alan Ramsey, At-Large Executive Committee Member (Outstate)
Missouri Attorney General's Office
P.O. Box 899
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Phone: (816) 405-9593
Email: stevenalanramsey@gmail.com
District: Western

Jerri Zhang Hon. Jerri J. Zhang, Board of Governors Delegate
16th Judicial Circuit Court, Division 19
415 E. 12th St., 9th Floor
Kansas City, MO 64106
Phone: (816) 881-3761
Email: jerri.zhang@courts.mo.gov
District: 3


Whitney Dunn Whittney A.L. Dunn, ABA Delegate
The Bar Plan Mutual Insurance Company
1717 Hidden Creek Court
St. Louis, MO 63131
Phone: (314) 965-3333
Email: wadunn@thebarplan.com
District: 8


2017-2018 YLS Council Members

Nicole Carlton Nicole M. Carlton
Buchanan & Williams, PC
1105 E. 32nd St., Suite 5
Joplin, MO 64804
Phone: (417) 781-8280
Email: ncarlton@joplinlawyers.com
District: 10

Brooke Christy Brooke A. Christy
Phillips, McElyea, Carpenter and Welch, PC
85 Court Circle, N.W.
P.O. Box 559
Camdenton, MO  65020
Phone:  (573) 346-7231
Email: bchristy@pmcwlaw.com
District: 12    



Mariam Clayton
1 Danfield Rd.
St. Louis, MO 63124-1407
Phone: (314) 402-3555
Email: mezzelgo@gmail.com
District: 8



Kelly Collins
Jackson County Prosecutor's Office
321 W. Lexington
Independence, MO 64050
Phone: (816) 881-3288
Email: kmcollins@jacksongov.org
District: 3

Nate Dunville C. Nathan "Nate" Dunville
Neale & Newman, LLP
1949 E. Sunshine Building 1, Suite 130
Springfield, MO 65804
Email: cndunville@gmail.com
District: 11


Rex Fennessey Rex Fennessey, Missouri Bar Foundation Liaison
McMahon Berger, PC
2730 N. Ballas Rd., Suite 200
St. Louis, MO 63131
Phone: (314) 567-7350
Email:rpf395@gmail.com
District: 8

Michael Hart Michael Hart
Sher Corwin Winters LLC
190 Carondelet Plaza, Suite 1100
Clayton, MO 63105
Phone: (314) 721-5200
Email:mhart@scwstl.com
District: 8

Nicholas Jain Nicholas D. Jain
Greene County Prosecutor’s Office
1010 N. Boonville Ave.
Springfield, MO 65802
Phone: (417) 868-4833
Email: njain@greenecountymo.org
District: 11

Mathew Jett Mathew Jett
Law Office of Mathew T. Jett
225 S. Meramec Ave., Suite 821T
St. Louis, MO 63105
Phone: (314) 399-5995
Email: matt@attorneymattjett.com
District: 8

Adam Krause Adam W. Krause 
Krause & Kinsman, LLC
4717 Grand Ave., Suite 250
Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone: (816) 760-2700
Email: adam@krauseandkinsman.com
District: 3

Courtney Logan Courtney R. Logan
City of East St. Louis
301 River Park Drive
East St. Louis, IL 62201
Phone: (618) 482-6785
Email:clogan@cesl.us
District: 9

Pat Mobley Dustin Mayer
Mayer Law Office
P.O. Box 326
140 S. Walnut
Dexter, MO 63841
Phone: (573) 624-7876
Email:dustin@mayerlawoffice.com
District: 14

  Trisha E. McCulloch
TEM Law LLC
814 First Capitol Drive
St. Charles, MO 63301
Phone: (636) 232-9700
Email:trisha@temlawllc.com
District: 7

Trentis Miller Trentis E. Miller
Chapman Cowherd PC
P.O. Box 228
Chillicothe, MO 64601
Phone: (660) 646-0627
Email: tmiller@ccttlaw.com
District: 1

Corey Moon

Corey Moon
De Coster Law, LLC
105 E. Lafayette St.
P.O. Box 81
Monticello, MO 63457
Phone: (573) 767-5304
Email: mooncoreyr@gmail.com
District: 2

Pat Mobley W. Patrick Mobley
Legal Services of Eastern Missouri
4232 Forest Park Ave.
St. Louis, MO 63108
Phone: (314) 256-8782
Email: wpmobley@lsem.org
District: 9

Katherine Myers Katherine Myers
Edelman, Liesen & Myers, LLP
4051 Broadway, Suite 4
Kansas City, MO 64111
Phone: (816) 533-4976
Email: kmyers@elmlawkc.com
District: 3

Kate Noland Kate Noland
Noland Law Firm, LLC
34 Westwoods Drive
Liberty, MO 64068
Phone: (816) 781-5055
Email:kate@nolandlawfirm.com
District: 4

Erin Pfirrman Erin Pfirrman
The Gunn Law Firm, PC
1714 Deer Tracks Trail, Suite 240
St. Louis, MO 63131
Phone: (314) 965-1200
Email: epfirrman@thegunnlawfirm.com
District: 8

Nicole Pleasant

Nicole S. Pleasant
The Pleasant Group, LLC
1015 Locust St., Suite 406
St. Louis, MO 63101
Phone: (314) 449-1654
Email:pleasantlaw11@gmail.com
District: 9

Dan Portnoy Dan Portnoy
Jackson County Prosecutor’s Office
415 E. 12th St., 11th Floor
Kansas City, MO 64106
Phone: (816) 881-3555
Email: dportnoy@jacksongov.org
District: 3

Callie Pippin Callie Pippin Raitinger
Graves Garrett LLC
1100 Main St., Suite 2700
Kansas City, MO 64105
Phone: (816) 256-3181
Email:craitinger@gravesgarrett.com
District: 3

Shatrasha Stone

Shatrasha "Shae" Stone
St. Louis City
1520 Market St., Room 1062
St. Louis, MO 63103
Phone: (314) 657-1844
Email: stones@stlouis-mo.gov
District: 9

 

Cara Stuckel
Missouri Attorney General's Office
P.O. Box 899
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Phone: (573) 751-0580
Email: cara.stuckel@ago.mo.gov
District: 6

Robert Thrasher

Robert A. Thrasher
Monsees & Mayer, PC
4717 Grand Ave., Suite 820
Kansas City, MO 64112
Email: rthrasher@monseesmayer.com
District: 3


Stephan Tomlinson Stephan R. Tomlinson
Missouri Department of Social Services
221 W. High St., Room 240
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Phone: (573) 751-4815
Email:Stephan.R.Tomlinson@dss.mo.gov
District: 6

Ashley Walker Ashley M. Walker
HeplerBroom LLC
211 N. Broadway, Suite 2700
St. Louis, MO 63102
Phone: (314) 482-9210
Email: amarie040886@gmail.com
District: 9

Mark Welker Mark J. Welker
Law Offices of Jackson and Welker
1028 N. Kingshighway St., Suite A1
Cape Girardeau, MO 63701
Phone: (573) 204-8770
Email: mark@jacksonwelker.com
District: 13