Young Lawyers' Section (YLS) - The Missouri Bar

FastCase login

They Had a Dream Too

Like us on Facebook
The Missouri Bar   |   CLE Center

YLS Council and Election Information

YLS’ governing body is the YLS Council, which is composed of approximately 35 young lawyers elected for two-year terms from districts across the state, with officers and executive committee elected from within the ranks of the Council’s membership.

For a copy of the YLS by-laws, click here (updated May 2016).
For a map of the YLS districts, please click here.

Elections for roughly half of the Council seats are held annually each summer. Election notices and deadlines for filing nominating petitions are published in the Journal of The Missouri Bar and are listed on this website’s Statewide Young Lawyer Calendar.

Nominating petitions for open seats must be filed with the Executive Director of the Missouri Bar between January 1 and July 1 prior to the election. Votes are generally canvassed on August 15th of each year. Nominating petitions must be signed by at least five members of the YLS Section who are enrolled and entitled to vote in the respective district from which the member or members of the Council are to be elected. For a copy of a nominating petition, please click here.

Beginning in 2016, the Young Lawyers’ Section Council’s bylaws allow for the creation of an “Alternating District” and the election of one additional member of the Young Lawyers’ Section Council who has unique experience and knowledge or who represents diverse elements of YLS within the state of Missouri, including but not limited to race, gender, sexual orientation, and disability. The 2016 – 2018 seat will be a representative elected by eligible voters in the Western District. For more information and a copy of the nominating petition for the diversity seat, please click here.


2015-2016 YLS Council Officers and
Executive Committee Members

Brandon Corl Brandon Corl, Chair
The Potts Law Firm, LLP
1901 West 47th Place, Suite 210
Westwood, KS 66205
Phone: (816) 931-2230
Email:bcorl@potts-law.com
District: 3

Sander Sowers Sander Sowers, Chair-Elect
Lear Werts LLP
2003 W. Broadway, Ste. 107
Columbia, MO 65203
Phone: (573) 875-1991
Email: sowers@learwerts.com
District: 5

Morgan Murphy|
Morgan Murphy, Secretary/Treasurer
Brown & James, P.C.
800 Market Street, Suite 1100
Saint Louis, Missouri 63101-2501
Phone:   (314) 206-3047
Email: mmurphy@bjpc.com
District: 9

Bryan Sanger Bryan Sanger, Immediate Past Chair
Mandel & Mandel, L.L.P.
1108 Olive St., Fifth Floor
St. Louis, MO 63101
Phone: (314) 621-1701
Email:bryan@mandelmandel.com
District: 9

Callie Pippin Callie Pippin Raitinger, At-Large Executive Committee Member (Kansas City)
Graves Garrett L.L.C.
1100 Main St., Suite 2700
Kansas City, MO 64105
Phone: (816) 285-3893
Email:callie.pippin@gmail.com
District: 3

Adam Pihana Adam Pihana, At-Large Executive Committee Member (Outstate)
Hall Ansley, P.C.
3275 E. Ridgeview St.
Springfield, MO 65804
Phone: (417) 890-8700
Email: apihana@hallansley.com
District: 11  

Charles Coffey Charles Coffey, At-Large Executive Committee Member (St. Louis)
The Bar Plan Mutual Insurance Company
1717 Hidden Creek Court
St. Louis, MO 63131
Phone: (314) 288-1027
Email: cscoffey@thebarplan.com
District: 8

Brent Dulle J. Brent Dulle, Board of Governors Delegate
City of St. Louis Law Department
1200 Market Street, City Hall 314
St. Louis, MO 63103
Phone: (314) 622-4644
Email:jbrentdulle@gmail.com
District: 9

Jerri Zhang Jerri Zhang, ABA Liaison / District 22 Rep.
Jackson County Counselor's Office
415 East 12th Street, 2nd Floor
Kansas City, MO 64106
Phone: (816) 881-3355
Email: JZhang@jacksongov.org
District: 3


2015-2016 YLS Council Members

Laura Bentele

Laura Bentele
Armstrong Teasdale LLP
7700 Forsyth Boulevard, Suite 1800
St. Louis, MO 63105
Phone: (314) 342-4133
Email: lbentele@armstrongteasdale.com
District: 8

Amanda Brown

Amanda Burdick-Brown
Law Office of Amanda K. Brown, L.L.C.
2032 East Kearney St., Suite 106
Springfield, MO 65803
Phone: (417) 379-9097
Email: amandabrownlaw@outlook.com
District: 11

Jose Caldera

Jose Caldera, ABA Delegate
Missouri Secretary of State's Office
P.O. Box 1767
Jefferson City, MO 65102-1767
Phone: (573) 751-4936
Email: jose.caldera@sos.mo.gov
District: 6

Nicole Carlton Nicole Carlton
Buchanan & Williams, P.C.
1105 E. 32nd St., Suite 5
P.O. Box 1582
Joplin, MO 64802-1582
Phone: (417) 781-8280
Email: ncarlton@joplinlawyers.com
District: 10

Jonce Chidister
Dunklin County Assistant Prosecuting Attorney
1113 Charlotte Drive
Malden, MO 63863
Phone: (573) 888-6676
Email: jbchidister@hotmail.com
District: 14
 
Brooke Christy

Brooke A. Christy
Phillips, McElyea, Carpenter and Welch, P.C.
85 Court Circle, N.W.
P.O. Box 559
Camdenton, MO  65020
Phone:  573-346-7231
Email: bchristy@pmcwlaw.com
District: 12      

Lauren Collins

Lauren Collins
HeplerBroom LLC
130 N. Main St.
P.O. Box 510
Edwardsville, IL 62025
Phone: 618-656-0184
Email: lcollins@heplerbroom.com
District: 9


Austin Dowling

Austin Dowling
Douthit Frets Rouse Gentile & Rhodes, LLC
5250 W. 116th Place
Leawood, KS 66211
Phone: (913) 387-1600
Email: adowling@dfrglaw.com
District: 3

John Eccher

John M. Eccher
Hollinghead, Paulus, Echher & Fry
The Sevens Building
7777 Bonhomme Ave., Suite 2401
St. Louis, MO 63105
Phone: (314) 925-7632
Email: j.eccher@hpeflaw.com
District: 8

Rex Fennessey Rex Fennessey
McMahon Berger, P.C.
2730 N. Ballas Rd., Suite 200
St. Louis, MO 63131
Phone: (314) 567-7350
Email:fennessey@mcmahonberger.com
District: 8

Nicole Fisher Nicole Fisher
Fisher Law LLC
4310 Madison Ave., Suite 110
Kansas City, MO 64111
Phone: (816) 471-7008
Email: nicole@fisherlawkc.com
District: 3

Michael Hart Michael Hart
Sher Corwin Winters LLC
190 Carondelet Plaza, Suite 1100
Clayton, MO 63105
Phone: (314) 499-5210
Email:mjhart@scwstl.com
District: 8

  Talley Kendrick
Monroe County Prosecuting Attorney
300 N. Main Street
Paris, MO 65275
Phone: (660) 327-4484
Email: talleymkendrick@gmail.com
District: 2

Susan Layton Susan Layton Tomlin
Layton & Southard, LLC
1650 N. Kingshighway, Suite 302
Cape Girardeau, MO 63701
Phone: (573) 335-3359
Email: slayton@laytonsouthardlaw.com
District: 13

Courtney Logan Courtney R. Logan
City Manager
301 Riverpark Drive
East St. Louis, IL 62201
Phone: (618) 482-6759
Email:clogan@cesl.us
District: 9

Marty Miller Marty Miller
Missouri Department of Natural Resources
1101 Riverside Drive
P.O. Box 176
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176
Phone: (573) 751-0323
Email:miller4233@gmail.com
District: 6

Trentis Miller Trentis Miller
Chapman Cowherd P.C.
P.O. Box 228
Chillicothe, MO 64601
Phone: (660) 646-0627
Email: tmiller@ccttlaw.com
District: 1

Pat Mobley W. Patrick Mobley
Legal Services of Eastern Missouri
4232 Forest Park Ave.
St. Louis, MO 63108
Phone: (314) 256-8782
Email: wpmobley@lsem.org
District: 9

Katherine Myers Katherine Myers
Edelman, Liesen & Myers, LLP
4051 Broadway, Suite 4
Kansas City, MO 64111
Phone: (816) 533-4976
Email: kmyers@elmlawkc.com
District: 3

Kate Noland Kate E. Noland
Noland Law Firm, LLC
34 Westwoods Drive
Liberty, MO 64068
Phone: (816) 781-5055
Email:kate@nolandlawfirm.com
District: 4
 
Joshuah Peter Joshuah Peter
Solomon & Peter, LLP
Mark Twain Tower
106 W. 11th Street, Suite 1620
Kansas City, MO 64105
Phone: (816) 456-8158
Email:josh@solomonandpeter.com
District: 3

 
Dan Portnoy

Dan Portnoy
Jackson County Prosecutor’s Office
415 East 12th Street, 11th Floor
Kansas City, MO 64106
Phone:  816-881-3555
Email: dportnoy@jacksongov.org
District: 3

Nathan Risch Nathan J. Risch
Sauerwein Hein P.C.
147 North Meramec Ave.
St. Louis, MO 63105
Phone: (314) 863-9100
Email:njr@sauerwein.com
District: 7

Hon. Jason Sengheiser Hon. Jason Sengheiser, Missouri Bar Foundation Liaison
Circuit Court of the City of St. Louis
Civil Courts Building
10 N. Tucker Blvd.
St. Louis, MO 63101
Phone: (314) 565-1139
Email: sengheiser@hotmail.com
District: 9

Cort VanOstran

Cort VanOstran
United States District Court (EDMO)
111 S. 10th Street
St. Louis, MO 63102
Phone: (314) 244-7561
Email: cort.vanostran@gmail.com
District: 9

Mitch Wood Mitchell Wood
Halbrook Law Firm, PC
3500 W. 75th St., Suite 300
Prairie Village, KS 66208
Phone: (913) 529-1164
Email: mwood@halbrooklaw.com
District: 3